Indiana Citizens Redistricting Commission

The deadline for applications has passed. We will announce members of the Commission soon.


The Indiana Citizens Redistricting Commission (ICRC) will demonstrate how the redistricting process in Indiana should be conducted.  The ICRC will show that a politically balanced group of citizens working transparently and in cooperation with citizens can devise districts that will serve the public interest, not the interests of politicians. 

The ICRC will hold a series of virtual public meetings in 2021 to take public testimony on what redistricting criteria should guide the map-drawing process and to identify communities of interest throughout the state.  They will publish a report and send it to the members of the Indiana General Assembly (IGA) charged with redistricting responsibilities.  They will also sponsor a map-drawing competition and serve as the judges for that competition.  The maps that best fulfill the criteria established through the public testimony and endorsed by the ICRC membership will be awarded cash prizes.

Those maps will also be submitted to the IGA by the All IN for Democracy coalition whose members will lobby the legislature to adopt them, instead of the partisan-drawn maps that will be produced by the incumbent politicians.  Our goal is to force the IGA to choose between maps drawn in a transparent manner by a politically balanced group of citizens or the maps drawn in secret by politicians who want to preserve their power. The choice should be clear.         


The ICRC will be composed of nine members:  three Republicans, three Democrats and three members who are neither Republican nor Democrat.  Once selected, the members will select a chairperson who must not be affiliated with either of the major political parties.  The ICRC will begin its work in early 2021.  We do not know what effect COVID-19 or the potential for delayed data from the U.S. Census Bureau may have on the time or work of the ICRC.  More information will be provided by All IN for Democracy as we receive it.